NCLB Waiver Information
In This Section

MN Waiver Information

MN Waiver Information

In January  2015 Minnesota renewed the waiver from the Federal Government’s No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act.  Minnesota was approved for a waiver to certain provisions of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), also known as No Child Left Behind (NCLB) in 2012. The ESEA Flexibility Waiver requires states to meet certain principles in exchange for flexibility from requirements in the NCLB law.The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) implemented the new school performance rating and designation system in 2012 with the goal of reducing the achievement gap by 50 percent in six years. All schools received a Multiple Measure Rating (MMR). This rating or designation for schools that receive Title I funds may change every year based on performance. All but nine MPS schools received Title I funds in 2014-15.

Click on links in MDE Resources to view more information about how MDE calculated the ratings and a fact sheet by MDE on Minnesota's Waiver.

More information also in the MPS Resources.

School Designations 2017-18